NASA sees Tropical Cyclone Linda lose an 'arm'

phys.org | 3/13/2018 | Staff
Emzah92 (Posted by) Level 3
Click For Photo: https://3c1703fe8d.site.internapcdn.net/newman/gfx/news/2018/10-nasaseestrop.jpg

Tropical Cyclone 13P has been renamed Tropical Cyclone Linda in the Southern Pacific Ocean. NASA's Aqua and Terra satellites found a powerful band of thunderstorms east of Linda's center that resembled an arm, fell apart in 9 hours.

By analyzing a storm in infrared light, scientists can tell cloud top temperatures that give clues about the location of the highest, coldest and strongest storms.

March - Pm - EDT - March - UTC

On March 12 at 11:05 p.m. EDT (March 13 at 0305 UTC), infrared data from the Atmospheric Infrared Sounder, or AIRS, instrument aboard NASA's Aqua satellite found the strongest storms in Linda. AIRS data showed powerful storms around Linda's center and in a strong band of thunderstorms east of the center.

By 8:30 a.m. EDT (1230 UTC) the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer, or MODIS, instrument aboard NASA's Terra satellite provided an infrared look at Tropical Storm Linda's cloud top temperatures. The MODIS image showed that the once-strong band of thunderstorms east of Linda's center had weakened and fragmented.

MODIS - Data - Temperatures - Thunderstorms

MODIS data also found cloud top temperatures of strongest thunderstorms were as cold as...
(Excerpt) Read more at: phys.org
Wake Up To Breaking News!
Sign In or Register to comment.

Welcome to Long Room!

Where The World Finds Its News!