Suomi NPP Satellite sees Tropical Storm Ava near Madagascar

phys.org | 1/3/2018 | Staff
adele2234 (Posted by) Level 3
Click For Photo: https://3c1703fe8d.site.internapcdn.net/newman/gfx/news/hires/2018/nasanoaassuo.jpg

NASA-NOAA's Suomi NPP passed over newly formed Tropical Storm Ava and analyzed the storm in infrared light. Ava, the third tropical cyclone of the Southern Indian Ocean season formed off the coast of northeastern Madagascar on Jan. 3.

On Jan. 3 at 4:12 a.m. EDT (0912 UTC) the Visible Infrared Imaging Radiometer Suite (VIIRS) instrument aboard NASA-NOAA's Suomi NPP satellite provided gathered infrared data of Ava. The Infrared data provided forecasters with temperatures that indicated where the strongest storms were located within the tropical storm. Coldest clouds tops and strongest storms wrapped around the center of circulation where temperatures were as cold as or colder than minus 80 degrees Fahrenheit (minus 62.2 Celsius). NASA research has shown that storms with cloud top temperatures that cold can produce heavy rainfall.

Am - EST - UTC - Center - Ava

At 10 a.m. EST (1500 UTC), the center of Ava was located near 6.2...
(Excerpt) Read more at: phys.org
Wake Up To Breaking News!
Sign In or Register to comment.

Welcome to Long Room!

Where The World Finds Its News!