Why You Need a “Plan Be” for your Bible Reading this year

annvoskamp.com | 1/3/2018 | Staff
Zorra (Posted by) Level 4
Click For Photo: https://c1.staticflickr.com/9/8700/16795131957_27bdcd7e7d_h_d.jpg

Years ago, I signed up for a summer Hebrew course in Israel so that I’d be able to absorb the sights and sounds of the land as I studied.

The class was held at a retreat center a few miles outside Jerusalem, and everywhere you looked you could see evidence of the ancient Israelites.

Class - Morning - Afternoons

We’d meet for class all morning, and then the afternoons were dedicated to homework and review.

Each day after lunch I’d make a point of hiking into the countryside and doing my homework under a tree, so that I could enjoy the hoo-hoo-hoot of the mourning doves and the scent of the cedar trees wafting in the breeze.

Limestone - Hillsides - Israelites - Thousands - Years

These terraced limestone hillsides had been farmed by Israelites thousands of years earlier.

A person didn’t need to look far to find an ancient basin hewn into the rock where a farmer had once stomped his grapes to press out juice for wine, or a pottery shard from a water jug hefted by a peasant girl in King David’s time.

Reminders

Biblical reminders were everywhere.

I could just imagine the characters alive around me once again.

Day - Lunch - Tree - Group - College

Every day as I headed out after lunch for my favorite tree, I’d walk past a group of college students who were also in my class.

They’d cluster tightly in a corner of the air-conditioned reception office, where they’d hang out until supper, hovering over their laptops.

Hour - Huddle - Chairs

After they ate, they’d beeline right back there again. Pretty much every waking hour, that little huddle would convene and glue itself to the chairs.