Tropical Depression 15E appears almost shapeless on NASA satellite imagery

phys.org | 9/13/2017 | Staff
srqlolo (Posted by) Level 3
Click For Photo: https://3c1703fe8d.site.internapcdn.net/newman/gfx/news/hires/2017/1-tropicaldepr.jpg

Tropical Depression 15E is being affected by vertical wind shear on NASA satellite imagery and appears almost shapeless.

The AIRS instrument aboard NASA's Aqua satellite captured infrared temperature data on Tropical Depression 15E's clouds on Sept. 13 at 6:11 a.m. EDT (1011 UTC). At the time, the storm appeared to have some strong thunderstorms in two areas around the center. The National Hurricane Center noted that "The cloud pattern has not become any better organized since yesterday and consists of a low-level center in between two shapeless blobs of deep convection."

EDT - PDT/1500 - UTC - Sept - Center

At 11 a.m. EDT (8 a.m. PDT/1500 UTC) on Sept. 13, the center of Tropical Depression Fifteen-E was located near 14.9 degrees north latitude and 120.6 degrees west longitude, about 890 miles (1,435 km) southwest of the southern tip of Baja California.

West. The depression is moving toward the west near 9 mph (15 kph) and the National Hurricane Center said this...
(Excerpt) Read more at: phys.org
0 other people are viewing this story
Wake Up To Breaking News!
Sign In or Register to comment.