Indian Rocket Marks Historic 50th Launch with Spy Satellite

Space.com | 12/12/2019 | Elizabeth Howell
Click For Photo: https://cdn.mos.cms.futurecdn.net/BwX4tSnRCaSotNcStGfqLD-1200-80.jpg

Click here for more Space.com videos...

India's workhorse rocket celebrated its 50th flight with a successful launch of 10 satellites, including a spy vehicle.

Polar - Satellite - Launch - Vehicle - PSLV

The Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) launched at 3:25 p.m. Indian Standard Time (4:55 a.m. EST or 0955 GMT) on Dec. 11 from Satish Dhawan Space Centre on India's east coast, near the Bay of Bengal.

The main payload, a spy satellite called RISAT-2BR1, successfully separated from the rocket and deployed its solar arrays, according to the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO). The spy satellite is expected to operate for five years, also supporting operations in agriculture, forestry and disaster management. RISAT stands for Radar Imaging Satellite, and this vehicle is the fourth satellite in the series, all built by ISRO.

PSLV - Satellites - Orbits - ISRO - Satellites

PSLV also deployed another nine commercial satellites into their intended orbits, ISRO added. These satellites were from Israel, Italy, Japan and the U.S. and flew under a commercial agreement with...
(Excerpt) Read more at: Space.com
Wake Up To Breaking News!
Democrate or Republican, the difference is less than the thickness of a cigarette paper, or a slice of pastrami at a delicatesean.
Sign In or Register to comment.

Welcome to Long Room!

Where The World Finds Its News!