Mercury Transit 2019: How to Watch the Rare Event Live Online

Space.com | 5/9/2016 | Hanneke Weitering
jesse456 (Posted by) Level 3
Click For Photo: https://cdn.mos.cms.futurecdn.net/Q6ebmVyTTBvSrLz7xbH5RG-1200-80.jpg













Click here for more Space.com videos...

When Mercury passes in front of the sun on Monday (Nov. 11), skywatchers will need to have the right equipment to see it safely. But if you don't have the right astronomy gear handy, you can watch the transit live online.

Observatories - World - Views - Sun - Monday

Observatories around the world will be broadcasting live views of the sun on Monday, when Mercury will cross in front of the sun from our perspective here on Earth. Mercury won't do this again until 2032, so you don't want to miss it!

Mercury will begin to creep onto the sun's disk at 7:35 a.m. EST (1235 GMT), and it will take about 5 hour and 28 minutes to make its way across, with the transit ending at 1:04 p.m. EST (1804 GMT). You can watch the entire transit live here on Space.com. We have rounded up a list of several different webcasts you can choose from, and you can find those below.

Observatory - Slooh - Webcast - Mercury - Transit

The online observatory Slooh will host a live webcast of the entire Mercury transit, and the show will feature close-up views of the sun from Slooh's flagship observatory at the Institute of Astrophysics of the Canary Islands and its partner observatories in Europe, the U.S., South America and Sharjah in the United Arab Emirates.

Slooh astronomer Paul Cox will provide commentary during the transit, and he will be joined by other "astronomical experts who will discuss Mercury, the sun, and planetary transits," Slooh officials said in a statement. "The team will also discuss the importance of planetary transits in history and why major expeditions to observe them were organized at great expense during the 1700s."

Slooh - Webcast - Am - EST - GMT

Slooh's webcast begins at 7:30 a.m. EST (1230 GMT), about 5 minutes before the start of Mercury's transit, and it will end at about 5 minutes after the...
(Excerpt) Read more at: Space.com
Wake Up To Breaking News!
Sign In or Register to comment.

Welcome to Long Room!

Where The World Finds Its News!