San Francisco blacklists 22 states that 'disregard the right to abortion' | 10/22/2019 | Staff
moni (Posted by) Level 3
Click For Photo:

San Francisco blacklists 22 states that 'disregard the right to abortion'

Facebook Twitter Email Print Menu Comment

Year - Employees - San - Francisco - Work

Beginning next year, employees in San Francisco will be forbidden to take work trips or do business with companies in 22 states that have “restrictive abortion laws.”

Mayor London Breed and Supervisor Vallie Brown announced the measure last week, explaining that the city must “fight back” as “women’s reproductive rights are threatened.”

States - Laws - LGBTQ - People - States

“Just as we restricted spending with states that have laws that discriminate against LGBTQ people, we are standing up against states that put women’s health at risk and that are actively working to limit reproductive freedoms,” Breed said in a statement.

She added: “By limiting travel and contracting with certain states, we are sending a clear message to states that disregard the right to abortion.”

Time - Rights - Washington - State - Houses

“At a time when reproductive rights are being attacked from Washington and state houses across the country, it is imperative that San Francisco step up and fight back,” said Brown. “By restricting travel to states with restrictive abortion laws and that limit access to reproductive health, we are showing our commitment to women, trans men, and nonbinary people in San Francisco and across the country.”

Brown also shared the news on Twitter: “Our +$12 billion budget should be spent on what we stand for and reflect our values. San Francisco will not do business with the 22 states that have passed abortion bans. We will not fund states that harm women, trans men and non-binary people,” she wrote.

States - San - Francisco - Policies - Alabama

The states being blacklisted by San Francisco for their “severe anti-choice policies” are Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, West Virginia and Wisconsin.

Nine states – Alabama, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, and Texas –...
(Excerpt) Read more at:
Wake Up To Breaking News!
Sign In or Register to comment.

Welcome to Long Room!

Where The World Finds Its News!