Chelsea and Hillary Clinton have awkward moment as they disagree on trans self-identification

Mail Online | 10/13/2019 | Kayla Brantley For Dailymail.com
blacky (Posted by) Level 3
Click For Photo: https://i.dailymail.co.uk/1s/2019/10/13/21/19666142-0-image-a-18_1571000248297.jpg

It may appear Hillary and Chelsea Clinton always see eye-to-eye, but in a recent interview one topic cracked the facade of the like-minded mother-daughter power duo.

The one issue Hillary and Chelsea don't appear to agree on entirely is transgender self-identification.

Interview - Sunday - Times - Journalist - Decca

In an interview with The Sunday Times, journalist Decca Aitkenhead asked the Clintons if someone with a beard and a **** can ever be a woman, to which Chelsea replied emphatically, 'Yes.'

However, as Aitkenhead describes it, Hillary looked 'uneasy', and blamed generational gaps for being less accepting.

Hillary - Discussion - Something - Lot - Time

'Errr. I'm just learning about this,' Hillary responded. 'It's a very big generational discussion, because this is not something I grew up with or ever saw. It's going to take a lot more time and effort to understand what it means to be defining yourself differently.'

The Clintons sat sown with Aitkenhead to promote the book they co-authored, The Book of Gutsy Women: Favorite Stories of Courage and Resilience.

Book - Danica - Roem - Trans - Woman

The book features Danica Roem, the first trans woman elected to a U.S. state legislature.

According Aitkenhead's account, she tells Hillary during the interview that many British feminists of Hillary's generation have a problem with the idea that a '**** who doesn't want to sleep with someone who has a **** is transphobic.'

Nods - Agreement - Chelsea - 'stiffens - Stares

Hillary nods in agreement, while Chelsea 'stiffens and stares at me', according to Aitkenhead.

The journalist then adds that many women of Hillary's generation are uncomfortable with biological...