Astronauts Will Launch to Space Station 50 Years After Apollo 11 Moon Landing: Watch Live!

Space.com | 7/20/1969 | Hanneke Weitering
cindy95240 (Posted by) Level 3
Click For Photo: https://cdn.mos.cms.futurecdn.net/uihgjBjy47Sqj9wN8wRzcF-1200-80.jpg




Three new crewmembers will launch to the International Space Station today (July 20) on the 50th anniversary of the Apollo 11 moon landing, and you can watch the liftoff live online.

NASA astronaut Andrew Morgan, Italian astronaut Luca Parmitano of the European Space Agency and Russian cosmonaut Alexander Skvortsov will lift off on a Soyuz rocket from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 12:28 p.m. EDT (9:28 p.m. local time, or 1628 GMT).

Launch - Space - Com - Courtesy - NASA

You can watch the launch live here on Space.com, courtesy of NASA TV, or directly via the agency's website at nasa.gov/live. NASA's broadcast will begin at 11:45 a.m. EDT (1545 GMT).

Related: Apollo 11 at 50: A Complete Guide to the Historic Moon Landing

Moon - Landing - Giveaway - Simulation - Curriculum

Apollo 11 Moon Landing Giveaway with Simulation Curriculum & Celestron!

A Soyuz rocket that will launch three people to the International Space Station on the 50th anniversary of the Apollo 11 moon landing tomorrow (July 20) stands tall on the launchpad at the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan.

Crewmembers - International - Space - Station - Soyuz

The three crewmembers will arrive at the International Space Station in their Soyuz MS-13 spacecraft at 6:50 p.m. EDT (2250 GMT), when they will dock at the station’s Zvezda service module.

After they arrive, they will be greeted by the three Expedition 60 crewmembers currently on board the...
(Excerpt) Read more at: Space.com
Wake Up To Breaking News!
Sign In or Register to comment.

Welcome to Long Room!

Where The World Finds Its News!