NASA catches formation of Tropical Cyclone Kenneth near Aldabra

phys.org | 4/23/2019 | Staff
yana.booyana.boo (Posted by) Level 4
Click For Photo: https://3c1703fe8d.site.internapcdn.net/newman/gfx/news/2019/nasacatchesf.jpg




Visible satellite imagery from NASA's Aqua satellite revealed the formation of Tropical Storm Kenneth in the Southern Indian Ocean. Kenneth formed north of Madagascar and east of the Aldabra Atoll.

An atoll is a ring shaped coral reef. The Aldabra is the world's second-largest coral atoll. It is part of the Aldabra Group of islands and part of the Outer Islands of the Seychelles.

EDT - UTC - April - Moderate - Resolution

At 6:45 a.m. EDT (1045 UTC) on April 23, 2019, the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer or MODIS instrument aboard Aqua captured a visible image of Kenneth. The Joint Typhoon Warning Center or JTWC forecasters noted "Satellite imagery shows deep convection (rising air that forms thunderstorms that make up a tropical cyclone) beginning to wrap symmetrically around a low-level circulation center and forming the early stages of a central dense overcast."

At 5 a.m. EDT (0900 UTC)...
(Excerpt) Read more at: phys.org
Wake Up To Breaking News!
Government, where everything works great, until something has to work.
Sign In or Register to comment.

Welcome to Long Room!

Where The World Finds Its News!