April full moon shines in Virgo

earthsky.org | 4/18/2019 | Bruce McClure
AavyAavy (Posted by) Level 4
Click For Photo: https://en.es-static.us/upl/2019/04/Multiple-Moon-Spica-Arcturus-april-2019-18-19-300x300.jpg

On both April 18 and April 19, 2019, you’ll see a round full-looking moon in your sky. The moon turns full in front of the constellation Virgo the Maiden at 11:12 UTC on April 19. That means that, from some places worldwide, the moon turns full before dawn on April 19. More about the precise time of the full moon shortly.

As darkness falls around the world on April 18, it’ll be an almost-full waxing gibbous moon in the neighborhood of Spica, the constellation Virgo’s one and only 1st-magnitude star.

Moon - Time - Alaska - Portions - Canada

Now back to that full moon time. If you live in Alaska, the western portions of Canada or the United States, Mexico or South or Central America, this full moon instant actually happens before (or at) dawn April 19. At North American and U.S. time zones, the moon turns full during the morning hours on April 19, at 8:12 a.m. ADT, 7:12 a.m. EDT, 6:12 a.m. CDT, 5:12 a.m. MDT, 4:12 a.m. PDT, 3:12 a.m. Alaskan Time and 1:12 a.m. Hawaiian Time.

By definition, the moon is full at the instant that it’s exactly 180 degrees away from the sun in ecliptic longitude. Or another way of putting it, the sun-moon elongation equals 180 degrees at full moon. Click here to find the sun-moon elongation at this moment, keeping in mind that a positive number refers to a waxing moon and a negative number to a waning moon.

Technicalities - Moon - Eye - Days - Vicinity

Technicalities aside, however, the moon appears full to the eye for a few days. That’s because at the vicinity of full moon, the moon remains more or less opposite the sun for a day or two. From around the world, expect to see a full-looking moon lighting up the nighttime from dusk until dawn tonight (April 18) and tomorrow night (April 19).

Want to know when the...
(Excerpt) Read more at: earthsky.org
Wake Up To Breaking News!
What's more plentiful, hydrogen or stupidity?
Tagged:
Sign In or Register to comment.

Welcome to Long Room!

Where The World Finds Its News!