Super Blood Wolf Moon Webcasts! How to Watch the 2019 Total Lunar Eclipse Online

Space.com | 1/18/2019 | Staff
hakimi308hakimi308 (Posted by) Level 4
Click For Photo: https://img.purch.com/h/1000/aHR0cDovL3d3dy5zcGFjZS5jb20vaW1hZ2VzL2kvMDAwLzA3OC8wNjIvb3JpZ2luYWwvbHVuYXItZWNsaXBzZS5qcGc=?&imgtype=.jpg

The total lunar eclipse of January 2019 promises to be a spectacle to behold, and may be visible to millions across North and South America, weather permitting. But if Mother Nature prevents you from seeing the moon marvel, fear not. You can always tune in to the "blood moon" on your favorite digital devices with some free webcasts.

On the night of Jan. 20, beginning just minutes after 10:30 p.m. EST (7:30 p.m. PST), the moon will noticeably, progressively get darker. The sun, the Earth and the moon will converge in an instance of perfect cosmic alignment to create a total lunar eclipse. The online observatory Slooh will host a free webcast on Slooh.com (you can sign up for a free account). We'll simulcast that feed on Space.com's homepage, courtesy of Slooh.

Skywatcher - Keith - Burns - Montage - Images

Skywatcher Keith Burns took this montage of images, which shows the Dec. 20, 2010, total lunar eclipse. The montage won a NASA contest to become an official NASA/JPL wallpaper for the public.

If weather, location or mobility concerns prevent you from watching the eclipse directly under a clear sky, don't worry: Plenty of webcasts will broadcast the event.

Godfrey - Slooh - Astronomer - Paul - Cox

Godfrey and Slooh astronomer Paul Cox, plus Slooh storyteller Helen Avery, will discuss the science and cultural impact of lunar eclipses during the webcast.

The Exploratorium in San Francisco will provide live lunar eclipse Facebook, and this broadcast, like Slooh's, will begin at 10:30 p.m. EST (0330 GMT/7:30 p.m. PST) as the moon moves into the darker region of Earth's shadow, called...
(Excerpt) Read more at: Space.com
Wake Up To Breaking News!
When seconds count, the police are only minutes away.
Sign In or Register to comment.

Welcome to Long Room!

Where The World Finds Its News!