12-step program for 'tech addicts': Young people turn to AA-style meetings to reclaim their lives

Mail Online | 12/26/2018 | Associated Press
TimHyuga (Posted by) Level 3
Click For Photo: https://i.dailymail.co.uk/1s/2018/12/26/15/wire-7837892-1545837130-95_636x382.jpg

Click For Video: https://videos.dailymail.co.uk/video/mol/2018/06/11/3303674009293994011/1024x576_MP4_3303674009293994011.mp4

The young men sit in chairs in a circle in a small meeting room in suburban Seattle and introduce themselves before they speak. It is much like any other 12-step meeting - but with a twist.

'Hi, my name is,' each begins. Then something like, 'and I'm an internet and tech addict.'

Level - Obsession - Phones - App - Show

The eight who've gathered here are beset by a level of tech obsession that's different than it is for those of us who like to say we're addicted to our phones or an app or some new show on a streaming video service.

For them, tech gets in the way of daily functioning and self-care.

Flunk-your-classes - Kinds - Problems - Depression - Anxiety

We're talking flunk-your-classes, can't-find-a-job, live-in-a-dark-hole kinds of problems, with depression, anxiety and sometimes suicidal thoughts part of the mix.

There's Christian, a 20-year-old college student from Wyoming who has a traumatic brain injury.

Mom - Help - Depression - Games - Marijuana

His mom urged him to seek help because he was 'medicating' his depression with video games and marijuana.

Seth, a 28-year-old from Minnesota, used video games and any number of things to try to numb his shame after a car he was driving crashed, seriously injuring his brother.

Wes - Eagle - Scout - College - Student

Wes, 21, an Eagle Scout and college student from Michigan, played video games 80 hours a week, only stopping to eat every two to three days.

He lost 25 pounds and failed his classes.

Town - Man - Meeting - Work - Schedule